top of page
  • Writer's picturesayaramae

Attractions in Hong Kong : Itinerary + Places to Visit


Hong Kong is probably one of the easiest countries to go to, having a lot of airlines offering promo flights going to this country.

I've been able to visit Hong Kong twice and I can say that my overall experience exploring the country was great - leaving me that wanting to go back again. When I was planning my first visit, the adventurous side of me kicked in so I did a massive research to prepare for a DIY Itinerary. And here are my most favorite places so far.

Disclaimer: This post isn't going to be a detailed travel guide but I'll be sharing with you our experiences during the trip. I have a different blog for the things that you need to know or tips before going to Hong Kong, all based from my experience.

Let's start..

1. HONG KONG DISNEYLAND

This is a theme park where anyone from all ages can enjoy. It so funny to remember how my parents enjoyed almost all the attractions we went to from Fantasyland, Tomorrowland, Adventureland, Grizzly Gulch and Mystic Point. I'm happy we are able to watch the Parade of Stars and the Disney Paint the Night parade. We also lined up to have a photo with Mickey Mouse, Mini Mouse, Winnie The Pooh, Goofy, Chip and Dale. And my personal favorite is the Mystic Manor and the Iron Man experience.

Cost: As of writing, on their website it cost HKD 619 (more or less Php 4333) for a 1 day General Admission ticket. We bought through KLOOK and we got it for about Php 3,440 only.

How to go to: Ride MTR going to Sunny Bay Station and from there you need to transfer to the Mickey Mouse train (I call it Micky Mouse train because of the windows) going to Disneyland.

2. HONG KONG OCEAN PARK

This is the largest theme park in Asia - marine mammal, amusement park that offers different attractions. And if your looking of an extreme rides like me, this is the perfect place for you. I will never forget the Arctic Blast, The Abyss, The Hair Raiser and the Raging River. And of course, my father's favorite - The Flash.

Also what I enjoyed in Ocean Park is the cable car ride going to the other side of the park and the sub-train going back. We also enjoyed the Dolphin Show and the Panda viewing - coz they were so cute. :)

Cost: HKD 480 (estimated Php 3,360) but purchased our ticket through KLOOK for Php 2,700.

How to go to: Ride MTR going to Admiralty Station and transfer to the connecting train dedicated to Ocean Park directly.

3. NGONG PING 360 | BIG BUDDHA

To be honest the only thing that convinced me visiting this place at first, is the cable car ride. And for me, it's the best cable car ride I had ever experienced so far. The feeling is so surreal ( Ang OA ko - haha Basta and ganda). :)

But after getting off the cable car, I was amazed with the place to the point that I can't help my self but to get a lot of photos.

Cost: Php 1784 Roundtrip Cable car from KLOOK again

How to go to: Ride MTR to Tung Chung Station and go to Exit B where you can find the terminal for the cable car.

4. Victoria Peak

I like the Tram experience going up to the Peak. When we arrived at the top of the mountain, we enjoyed the skyscrapers view over Central, Victoria Harbor and the surrounding Islands.

Cost: I honestly forgot the exact amount but I know KLOOK also offers discounted tram tickets

How to go to: Ride MTR going to Central Station and go to Exit J2. From there you just have to walk a little going to The Peak Tram Terminal.

5. AVENUE OF STARS

This is the first place that we went to right after we checked-in to our hotel. It is located along Victoria Harbor. It is modeled on the Hollywood Walk of Fame. It has the hand prints and the autographs of some famous celebrities of Hong Kong.

Of course, my father has to take a picture of this.

Cost: Free

How to go there: It is near Exit J of East Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Station. Another landmark is the InterContinental hotel.

6. CLOCK TOWER

This is actually not part of our itinerary, but I'm glad we saw this when we were at the Avenue of Stars. Someone told me that it is also one of the landmark of Hong Kong.

Cost: Free

How to go there: This is near Avenue of Stars and Tsim Sha Tsui Ferry Terminal. I suggest going here in the afternoon so you can also watch the Symphony of Lights after.

7. SYMPHONY OF STARS

This is a 15 minutes daily light and sound multi-media show that involved the skyscrapers in Victoria Harbor. It starts at 8 PM so right after Avenue of Stars we head to Victoria Harbor so we could get a good spot for the show. This is also just in front of the Clock Tower.

Cost: Free

How to get there: Ride MTR East Tsim Sha Tsui Station, Exit L6. This is near Avenue of Stars and Tsim Sha Tsui Ferry Terminal.

8. 10,000 BUDDHA

There are a lot of temples in Hong Kong and I'm glad we were able to visit Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery in Sha Tin, New Territories. It's a bit of a challenge for my parents because of the steep concrete path uphill. We walked for more than 400 steps before heading to the temple while enjoying the different life-sized golden buddhas on our way up.

Cost: Free

How to go there: Take East Railline MTR to Sha Tin Station and go to Exit B.

9. SNOOPY WORLD

Right after visiting Ten Thousands Buddhas we head to Snoopy world - a small “theme park” located in the New Territories near the New Town Plaza shopping mall in Sha Tin. What we enjoyed here is that, the place is a family friendly place.

Cost: Free

How to go there: Ride East Railway MTR to Sha Tin station and take Exit A. Walk through the New Town Plaza shopping mall and you will reach Snoopy's World within 5 minutes walk.

10. PO LIN MONASTERY

Po Lin Monastery is a Buddhist monastery located in Ngong Ping Plateau on Lantau Island Hong Kong. This is also a 5 minutes walk from the Big Buddha. We haven't got the chance to go inside the temple because we were already hungry. So, we just took a picture and head to the restaurants beside it.

If you got the chance to visit this place, I recommend you trying this "Mixed Vegetables". Just look for the restaurant ( I forgot the name of the restaurant) beside the temple. This will be the best food trip experience you'll ever had. :)

11. LADIES MARKET

This is where you can find various low priced products. This is also where I bought "pasalubongs". :) Always remember not to buy on the first stall you'll be. Our experience was we found much lower price goods as we go along the street. You also need to practice your bargaining skill here. :)

How to go: Take MTR to Mongkok Station and take Exit E2.

There are still places we've visited in Hong Kong, but the list above are my top favorites so far. If you noticed almost all of them are near MTR stations because I'm more comfortable with MTR than taking buses or taxis, though it is also convenient to take buses.

I really enjoyed my Hong Kong trips and I'm looking forward to my next visit.

0 comments

Comments


lazada.jpeg
bottom of page