top of page
  • Writer's picturesayaramae

My thoughts about Dan Brown's the "ORIGIN"


I've always been a fan of Dan Brown. Every time I finished reading one of his books, I end up saying "This is my favorite". That's how hooked I am.

The last book that I read was "Inferno" and that set my expectations high (but not the movie) to the next book that I will be reading. And then, I got his book the "Origin" on a book-sale. I remember myself being extra happy because I got it half the original price. :)

Disclaimer: This isn't gonna be a formal book review but more of a reaction blog from a casual reader like me.

In the "Origin", Robert Langdon was invited by his former student Edmond Kirsch at the ultramodern Guggenheim Museum in Bilbaoon, Spain. Kirsch is a computer scientist, futurist and a well known atheist. He wanted to share to the world his new discovery. And that is the answer to the two most fundamental human questions - where we came from and where we are going? During the event before he unveil his discoveries, a murder happened that killed Kirsch. Robert run out together with Ambra Vidal, a museum director and the fiance of Spain's Prince Julian. The story goes around them looking for a 47 character password that will unlock Edmond's discovery so they can show it to the world. During their quest, they got a help from Edmond's creation an Artificial Intelligence named Winston. To cut the story short, at the end part Langdon was horrified when he figured out that Kirsch was killed by an AI (his own creation). Thinking that the presentation can get many viewer as possible by making Kirsch a martyr. It all boils down when he realizes that Winston is Monte (monte and iglesia mean "mountain/hill" and "church" in Spanish. And Winston is named after Winston Churchill).

For me, what makes this book differs from all Dan Brown's books is that - on his previous books Robert was invited to solve a "mystery" but this time Robert was at the exact situation when the "mystery" or "crime" happened. The book is very lengthy. Also, being a Dan Brown fan, I somehow predicted some of the plot line. It has all Dan Brown elements. Making me guess the killer as the least "person" who could possible do it.


I like how he lay down the conflict of science and religions. I also like the way he educates his readers regarding literature, art, history and the place - very Dan Brown. And how can I not appreciate the part of the story where Robert and Ambra went to Kirsch laboratory and got up close to his super computer. The description made me picture out the entire place and how this super technology was set up and works. I was also amazed by the Winston play at the end more than the discovery. My best part was finding out the meaning of monte@iglesia. Read it to find out.

Overall, I had a thrilling reading experience that I enjoyed.




0 comments

Comments


lazada.jpeg
bottom of page