top of page
  • Writer's picturesayaramae

Lessons I got from Paulo Coelho's "The Alchemist"


"The Alchemist" is written by Paulo Coelho that was first published in 1988. It has sold million copies worldwide making it one of the best-selling books in history.

I have recently read the book and it's about a young Shepherd named "Santiago" and his journey in achieving his "personal legend". Along his way he met different characters that will stir him into different directions. Every obstacle is a learning for him. He learned to listen to his heart and focus in achieving his goal.

We (for me) is "Santiago" at some point in our lives. The moment where we are in deep thoughts of where we are going and what are we going to do with our lives. Finding our purpose and achieving our dreams. I like how that book was written in a way that everyone can relate.

I listed some of the lessons I got from "The Alchemist".

“Remember that wherever your heart is, there you will find your treasure. You’ve got to find the treasure, so that everything you have learned along the way can make sense.”

- Remember to always be driven by what you love. This will always lead you to joy and happiness. You may not realize it at the beginning but it will be worth it at the end.

“The secret of life, though, is to fall seven times and to get up eight times”

- Along the journey you may fail. Don’t give up in the process.

“Tell your heart that the fear of suffering is worse than the suffering itself, and no heart has ever suffered when it goes in search of its dreams."

-If you let fear hinders you from achieving your dreams you will end up living a life of "what ifs". And that's the most difficult part. Thinking what might happen if you put aside your fear and realizing you could have done it - and live the life you always dreamed about.

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

-This for me is hard-work. Knowing that when you do your best and not give up you will achieve it.

“When you possess great treasures within you, and you try to tell others of them, seldom are you believed.”

- Finding people to support you can be tough. You might hear a lot of discouraging words from other people around you. Some might not believe you but that's ok. No one knows your dreams better than you do.

“When we love, we always strive to become better than we are. When we strive to become better than we are, everything around us becomes better too.”

-I think this is the beauty of "love". Cliche it may sound but it's always true. Love is magical. When you love someone or you love something - everything will be easy. And most importantly, we became the better version of our selves.

“If you’re brave enough to say goodbye, life will reward you with a new hello.”

-I remember the saying "The best is yet to come", "The Start of something new", so don't be saddened with goodbyes and ending pages.

“I’m proud of the scars in my soul. They remind me that I have an intense life.”

- Battle scars are representation of how brave a person is.

These are the few that I listed. I know there's still a lot more that the book can offer. I have nothing to say with the technicalities on how the book was written. But for me, I like how simple and short it was. Bottom-line is - we all have something we wanted to achieve. All we need to do is do our best in achieving it and God will do the rest.


0 comments

Comments


lazada.jpeg
bottom of page